Stuart Sunderland

Fire Chief

Stuart Sunderland was appointed Fire Chief of ACFR of May 27th, 2020. He’s been with the ACFR since April 1990. Chief Sunderland has served in various capacities, and previously held the ranks of Firefighter, Lieutenant, Captain, Battalion Chief, and Deputy Chief.

Troy Patterson

Deputy Chief of Administration

Troy D. Patterson was appointed Deputy Chief of Administration on May 27th 2020.  He has been with ACFR since Sept. 12, 1994, and previously held the position of Deputy Chief of Operations.  Chief Patterson has served the community in many roles. He earned an A.A.S. in Fire Science Technology and Fire Service Management and is IFSAC accredited as a Fire Officer, Fire Instructor, and Nationally Registered Emergency Medical Technician.

Dave Baldwin

​Deputy Chief of Operations

Dave Baldwin was appointed Deputy Chief Of Operations on May 27th, 2020. He had previously held the position of EMS Chief since April of 2004. Chief Baldwin has been with ACFR since 1998. His interest in Emergency Services began at the young age of five, following a serious family auto accident. He’s a graduate of St. Anthony’s Paramedic School and holds a B.S. in Health Sciences/Emergency Management from George Washington University and a Masters of Science in Leadership with an Emphasis in Disaster Preparedness and Executive Fire Leadership from Grand Canyon University. He has also been designated as a Chief Medical Officer (CMO) by the Commission on Professional Credentialing. He has completed the Executive Fire Officer (EFO) program at the National Fire Academy, and completed the Senior Executives in State and Local Government program at Harvard.

Mark Schuman

Division Chief of Emergency Management

Mark Schuman was appointed Emergency Management Chief on Aug. 20, 2019. He’s been with ACFR since 1990. He is a member, and past Chairperson, of the Adams County Local Emergency Planning Committee, and is the current co-chair of the UASI/NCR Training and Exercise Committee,, as well as a member of the Colorado Emergency Managers Association. Marks holds an A.A.S. degree in Fire Science from Red Rocks community College. He was ACFR’s Training Chief for nine years, and was awarded the Colorado Fire Instructor of the Year in 2010.

Bret Williamson

Training Chief

Bret Williamson was appointed Training Chief on February 1, 2020. Bret was the Training Captain from May 2015 to his most recent promotion. Bret has been in the Fire Service since 1990 and attended Colorado Mesa University, studying Criminal Justice. Bret was the recipient of the Patriot Award, presented to him by the Department of Defense and the Navy. He currently holds the IFSAC certifications of Fire Officer II, Fire Instructor III, Incident Safety Officer, NFPA 1403 Live Fire Instructor, and CPSE Chief Training Officer.

Eric Schultz

EMS Chief

Eric Schultz was appointed EMS Chief in 2020. He began his career as an EMT and Volunteer Firefighter with Westminster Fire Department in 1992. In 1995, he was hired by North Washington Fire and in 1996 he attended the C.A.P.E. Paramedic program as one of the first three Paramedics for the District’s new ALS Program. Previously he has served as a Firefighter, Paramedic, EMS Lieutenant, Fire Lieutenant, and EMS Captain. Eric has a Bachelor’s Degree in Emergency Management/Fire Science from Waldorf University. He is also currently a Nationally Registered Paramedic, with additional certifications in ACLS, PALS, Fire Officer, Fire and EMS Instructor, Haz-Mat Operations and Incident Safety Officer. Additionally, he has completed the Management of EMS and Community Risk Reduction courses at the National Fire Academy.

Rick Busch

Battalion Chief A-Shift

Rick Busch was appointed Battalion Chief June 1, 2019. He is a second generation firefighter. Chief Busch started his emergency service career at age 18 working with Reed Ambulance paramedic service in the Denver Metro Area. In 1993, he was hired by North Washington Fire Department and was the first EMS Coordinator that assisted in implementing their advance life support engine and fire medic ambulances. Chief Busch has an Associate Degree in Fire Science from Waldorf University.

Clinton Garner

Battalion Chief B-Shift

Clinton Garner is currently assigned as a Battalion Chief. Growing up in the area in which he currently serves, provides an opportunity to give back to the community. Clinton has spent over 25 years in the fire service, obtained a Bachelor’s Degree in organizational Leadership from Colorado State University, currently working towards a Master’s Degree in leadership studies. Is IFSAC accredited for Fire Officer1, Hazardous Materials Operations, Fire Instructor 1 and holds his State of Colorado EMT-Basic. Also serves as the head of Special Operations for Adams County Fire.

Thom Jeffries

Battalion Chief C-Shift

Thom Jeffries was appointed Battalion Chief of ACFR on July 16th, 2022. Thom has been with ACFR since January 1st 1999, and started his career in the fire service as a volunteer in August of 1995. Chief Jeffries has served in various capacities, and previously held the ranks of Firefighter, Lieutenant, Captain. He has earned an AAS Degree in Fire and Emergency Services, through RRCC and is IFSAC accredited as a Fire Officer, Fire Instructor, Colorado State Emergency Medical Technician.

We’re always looking for talent

If you’re interested in joining the team here at ACFR, visit our job openings and contact us today!